FREE Sir Francis Drake iPhone & Android App

Sir Francis Drake

Religious Education

At Sir Francis Drake School, we follow the Lewisham Agreed Syllabus for Religious Education.

The six main faiths studied are:

  • Christianity
  • Buddhism
  • Hinduism
  • Islam
  • Judaism
  • Sikhism

There are two attainment targets:

  1. Learning about Religion
  2. Learning from Religions

In addition, other thematic topics are explored e.g. Peace, The Journey of Life & Death, Right & Wrong, Weddings, Belonging/Who am I, Food, Rules & Responsibilities.

We believe Religious Education helps pupils to learn from different religions, beliefs, values and traditions and reflect on their own beliefs.  It encourages pupils to develop respect for and sensitivity to others, in particular, those whose faiths & beliefs are different from their own.  It also helps to develop an understanding of the influence of beliefs, values & traditions on individuals, communities, societies, cultures and the world. Religious Education challenges pupils to reflect on, empathize, consider, analyze, interpret & evaluate issues of truth, belief, faith, ethics & to respond effectively.  At Sir Francis Drake School, Religious Education actively promotes the principles of fairness and justice, kindness and compassion, integrity and honesty, care for the environment and each other and respect for all. This ties in very closely with our school values.

Through the study of those who have shown wisdom & compassion in their lives, religious education can inspire young people to make a positive contribution of their own to the world.